This historian has filled columns with information on the Schoolcraft House and the congressman that built it, John L. Schoolcraft.
To continue reading this article, you must have a paid online subscription.
Log in, or check out our Subscription page for more information »
The good old days and ways were on display in Clarksville Saturday.
A corner building in the hamlet, known to plague some drivers, was torn down on July 22, part of an improvement project over two years at the intersection.
Ev Rau spoke on June 23 about the history of his Pleasant View Farm, on Lainhart Road.
Curious visitors watched demonstrations of effective techniques and proper etiquette for using metal detectors to uncover buried artifacts at the The Knox Historical Society's museum.
Thoughts of the changing times, changing landscapes, changing ways of life coincide in several articles uncovered by this historian.
A student in Schoolhouse No. 5 returned last week, nearly eight decades hence, to tell Berne-Knox-Westerlo second-graders about her early education.
Last Saturday, Tim Albright led a group of hikers through John Boyd Thacher State Park. Along their journey, Albright taught the group about the history of the area, from millions of years ago to the present.
SCHOHARIE — As part of the May 30 Decoration Day observation at the Old Stone Fort, the cenotaph of Col. Simon Hosack Mix will be re-dedicated, bringing to the forefront a fascinating life and death.
Eva Messer died in 1870. Her gravesite has intrigued visitors more than 100 years later, most recently a pair of men and a Facebook group interested in installing a new gravestone.
Copyright © 2013 The Altamont Enterprise.
Albany County, New York